Posted by: jazzbackcourt | March 9, 2010

Winthrop

So the question at hand is… Why is it that I am an avid fan of Winthrop basketball?  When you think about it, it really makes no sense.  I have no connections to anyone who attends Winthrop nor have I ever been there.  To be honest, I don’t even know where it is (It’s in South Carolina).  But in all honesty, it boils down to two simple reasons why I cheer for Winthrop every time they make it into the NCAA tournament, which by the way they did this year!!!!

Reason 1:  I played the part of Winthrop in The Sound of Music in 8th grade.  Ever since then I have been somewhat partial to the name.  It brings good memories.

Reason 2:  In my opinion, they have one of the better logos/mascot in the NCAA.  I love the colors, the mascot, and overall the whole package. 

So make fun of me if you must for picking Winthrop no matter who they play in the first round, but I’ll be the one laughing last when they make it to the Final Four.


Leave a comment

Categories